Friday, 29 January 2021

Book Spin Bingo

As I do have a lot of books piling high up without much time to read as many, I enjoy doing book challenges as a way to help clear my pile. This way, I have something to look forward to and felt more motivated to read. I managed to complete TBNT Book Challenge for last year except for their bonus round. I hoped to complete it fully this year.

I have also recently discovered another book challenge on Litsy! In case you didn't know, Litsy is an app for bookish reviews. It's a mix between Goodreads and Instagram where you can just posts reviews, blurbs or quotes about books you have read. It's a simple and easy to use app.

Anyway, I was introduced to this book spin bingo which was created by The Aroma of Books and I quite liked the concept since I can never decide what to read next. I have changed it a little to suit me since I can never decide which books I should list down to read either LOL! So here is what I have done:

- Instead of listing books in the bingo boxes, I've placed alphabets instead

- After getting the book spin numbers, I'll look for the alphabets and searched for first name of authors that I have. For example, January's numbers were 20 and 4 where alphabets T and D are! I do have quite a few books so I have dwindle it down by choosing the one that suits January's TBNT Book Challenge theme.

- So that's how I have ended up with Tennessee William's The Glass Menagerie!

If you are interested to do a Book Spin Bingo, do check out The Aroma of Books on Litsy or search for the below hashtags:

#bookspin
#doublespin
#bookspinbingo

Friday, 22 January 2021

[MPOV] Joy at Work

My rating: 4/5
Goodreads rating: 3.48/5
Published: 7/4/2020
Author: Marie Kondo and Scott Sonenshein
Genre: Personal development, non-fiction

The workplace is a magnet for clutter and mess. Who hasn't felt drained by wasteful meetings, disorganized papers, endless emails, and unnecessary tasks? These are the modern-day hazards of working, and they can slowly drain the joy from work, limit our chances of career progress, and undermine our well-being. The authors offer stories, studies, and strategies to help you eliminate clutter and make space for work that really matters. They will help you overcome the challenges of workplace mess and enjoy the productivity, success, and happiness that comes with a tidy desk and mind.

#tbntbookchallenge for January: A book about new beginnings

It's a coincident that I've wanted to read this in January and there were changes in my job that I have to be laterally transferred to a new JV. It truly helps to set my mind positively of this new change and also helps me to be more inclusive. 

I've always had a negative mindset and pretty judgmental at that. A very bad working trait, I know, but in the long run I've realized I was brought up in such mindset. So I have been working on changing this for a long time but it is hard as it is a trait I've known since small. As such, I have a 'mini me' in my mind telling me if I'm swaying to the 'dark side' so to speak LOL! It isn't easy but I'm taking baby steps to correct it. Hence reading this book does helped in a way to declutter my work space and in turn my mind.

I did not find any flaw to this book as it was well written with views from both authors except that Scott may seemed more in authority than Marie Kondo. Other than that, I've enjoyed how Marie has shared about her family which made her more relevant and more humane. It's nice to know she has also struggled with her work too LOL!

All in all, time to work on getting mine right and not dwell on the past, time to let it all go and keep moving forward! Here are some excerpts I've liked and the Americans one is eye-opening:




"No matter what your ideal work life is, the final goal is the same, to be able to work with joy."

"When teams are in sync, work feels energizing and our productivity is high."

"Our work and our lives are the cumulative result of our past choices. Whether you stay or leave, don't hold on to the past or be fearful of the future."

Thursday, 14 January 2021

[MPOV] The Accidental Further Adventures of the Hundred-Year-Old Man (The Hundred-Year-Old Man #2)

My rating: 2/5
Goodreads rating: 3.72/5
Published: 7/8/2018
Author: Jonas Jonasson
Translator: Rachel Willson-Broyles
Genre: fiction, humour

The sequel to Jonas Jonasson’s international bestseller The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared

It all begins with a hot air balloon trip and three bottles of champagne. Allan and Julius are ready for some spectacular views, but they’re not expecting to land in the sea and be rescued by a North Korean ship, and they could never have imagined that the captain of the ship would be harbouring a suitcase full of contraband uranium, on a nuclear weapons mission for Kim Jong-un …

Soon Allan and Julius are at the centre of a complex diplomatic crisis involving world figures from the Swedish foreign minister to Angela Merkel and President Trump. Things are about to get very complicated …

#tbntbookchallenge for January: An inspirational read

I've chosen this book for January's TBNT Book Challenge as it's inspiring that a 101 year old man still moves as Allan does and has a wonderful adventure to boot! He's definitely inspiring for me :-)

Anyway, I was excited upon finding out about the sequel hence I did have a very high expectation for when reading it. It actually did not excite as much and I was rather sad that it was kinda flat mostly. There were moments when it was actually funny and exciting, thinking that special Jonas' zest is back but after a while, it dissipates again. All in all, it was nice to know where Allan has ventured to but I did wished it was as good as the first.

The one thing I did liked about this book is how the author blatantly shot the political figures which was totally spot on! Oh well, it's just a novel and enjoyable at that but how apt! Anyway, it did got on the soft spot of most readers, I would think, with the way it was written and translated nicely. I sure hoped Allan would continue to grace us with his presence but not too commonly though.

Here are some excerpts that sorta tickled my funny bones:

'With the possible difference that Trump drew conclusions without doing the actual reading.'

'Above all, he had grown tired of the president's habit of repeating himself, like a scratched record.'

"We haven't had it before. Relax, Sabine! We only live once. That's the only certainty in life. How long, though - that varies."

Sunday, 3 January 2021

My TOP NINE 2020!

 So it's that time of the year again and here's my Instagram's top nine for the year 2020!

As you can see, this time it's a mix unlike previous year's where it's all about books LOL!!! I guess I have COVID-19 to thank for as we were home for nearly the whole year!

Saturday, 2 January 2021

TBNT Book Challenge 2021

Two Book Nerds Talking (TBNT) has continued to come up with a book challenge for year 2021. Since I have done this year's so it makes sense to continue as it helps to clear my 'to be read' piles of books. It finally moved the mountain little by little so I hoped that it will eventually flatten it soon! So here's the list of book challenge, if you are interested too...




I know there are many book challenges available but I do like to support our local community like TBNT. So here's to reading more books and less book buying in the year 2021!!! 

For more deets on TBNT, you can check out their Facebook page:

Thursday, 31 December 2020

2020: My year in books

So Goodreads has compiled my year in books for 2020. I am surprised that I could overachieved my goal of 30 especially since we have been in lockdown for most of the year! So it got me thinking to increase it gradually for next year. Anyway, here's the screenshots from Goodreads:






Wednesday, 30 December 2020

[MPOV] Murder at the Lakeside Library (A Lakeside Library Mystery #1)

My rating: 3/5
Goodreads rating: 3.5/5
Published: July 13, 2021
Author: Holly Danvers
Genre: Murder mystery fiction

Thanks to Netgalley for this e-ARC in return for my honest review.

In this series debut perfect for fans of Jenn McKinlay and Miranda James, Rain Wilmont must discover the killer, before the book closes on her life.

Rain Wilmont has just returned to her family's waterfront log cabin in Lofty Pines, Wisconsin after the untimely death of her husband. The cabin is peaceful compared to Rain's corporate job and comes with an informal library that Rain's mother, Willow, used to run. But as Rain prepares for the re-opening of the library, all hopes for a peaceful life are shattered when she discovers the body of Thornton Hughes, a real estate buyer, on the premise.

The community of Lofty Pines starts pointing fingers at Willow, since she has been unusually absent from the library this summer. A fishy rumor surfaces when Rain learns that Willow had been spending a lot of time with Thorton. The town even thought they were having an affair.

While theories swirl about the Thorton's death, Rain takes it upon herself to solve the case to exonerate her mother. As more clues surface, Rain will have to piece together the mystery. But if she isn't careful, she may be the next to end up dead in the water in Murder at Lakeside Library the first in Holly Danvers' new Lakeside Library mysteries.

I'm not sure why but this novel somehow reminds me of Alexander McCall Smith's novels. I'm not a fan of AMS so I'm surprised that this novel triggered my brain upon reading it. Anyway, I can imagined it as another Diva movie kinda story.

The first half was quite a breeze to read through as it's uneventful until the second half kicked in with more action thrown into the frenzy. With the plot twist towards the end, it sure made the story worthwhile with that unexpected ending. Overall, an easy read to fill the Christmas and New Year holiday gap! 

I've enjoyed how the two best friends finally reconnected with the murder bringing both of them closer. The adventure they got into trying to solve the murder mystery was quite uplifting but it wasn't the hype for me. It just fell short on adrenaline with the characters didn't quite connect to me at times. Maybe I was expecting more since it's themed with 'library'.

Books, library and murder is always a perfect lethal combination.

Wednesday, 23 December 2020

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Year of the Rat 2020 is definitely an unforgettable year. It will go down in history as the year filled with many unfortunate disasters, most prominently "COVID-19". This pandemic has changed the world by causing so many deaths, hospitalisations and lockdowns. We also have to practice a "New Normal" by consistently washing our hands, wearing a face mask and social distancing when we go out. In fact, if possible, we should stay at home more often than going out unnecessarily. 

The good in this is we get to spend more quality time with our loved ones. This pandemic has taught us to be more vigilant with our hygiene and stay clean always. It has also taught us to value our family and our lives more. Never ever take things for granted and feeling overly entitled is a passe. Being grateful, thankful and blessed are our daily gratification now.

So to end this, here's wishing you a very Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year! Hope the Year of the Ox 2021 will treat us better and bless us with good health.

Image Googled

LinkWithin

Related Posts with Thumbnails